From Yakubu Mustapha Minna

National Universities Commission (NUC) has approved 4 faculties to offer 41 programmes for the take off of the University of Education Minna named after late Governor Abdulkadir Abdullahi Kure of Niger state.

The chairman of the implementation committee, Professor Mohammed Kuta Yahaya made the disclosure at a press briefing yesterday in Minna, saying that the faculties to include; science education, arts and social science, education as well as vocational and technical education respectively.

Professor Kuta Yahaya stated that the approval came after resource assessment visit to proposed academic programmes with the view to assessing the human and material resources available for its establishment hence the approval for immediate take off of the full time mode in the main campus.

The chairman stressed that the admission will be through JAMB while he commended NUC that have concluded processes with the JAMB to effect the approved faculties on its website for the 2023/2024 academic session with candidate requirements like other universities in the country.

He noted that the Niger state governor Mohammed Umar Bago has proposed a sum of N20 Billion in the 2024 budget appropriation for the take off and implementation of the institution in the state. However called on both Nigerians and non Nigerians to apply for admission in to the institution.

He further applauded governor Mohammed Umar Bago for his leadership foresight in education, infrastructure and human development in the realization of the New Niger Agenda, adding that the approval marked the university as the 63rd state university and 217th university in Nigeria.

In his remarks, the Acting Vice Chancellor Professor Mohammed Yakubu Auna hailed the implementation committee chairman Professor Mohammed Kuta Yahaya for his worth of experience for guiding them throughout the struggle and called on the prospective candidates to enroll in to the university to pursue their higher education efficiently.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *